Skip to main content


Back to posts

OneOncology Appoints New Disease Group Chairs to Lead Sub-Specialization on the Platform

OneOncology announced today that its current OneCouncil Disease Group chairs have concluded their two-year term and newly appointed chairs will serve in 2024 and 2025.

The OneCouncil Disease Groups for Gastrointestinal, Genitourinary, Breast, Lung and Hematologic Malignancies, offer sub-specialized expertise and disease-specific educational initiatives to all physicians on the platform. Additionally, each group guides and approves OneOncology’s proprietary pathways, which are concordant with many nationally recognized evidence-based guidelines. The Disease Groups review and update pathways regularly when data is presented at nationally recognized meetings or in peer-reviewed journals. The Disease Groups also provide OneR direction on which clinical trials to pursue, offer Pharmacy & Therapeutics Committee expertise on newly approved therapies, oversee medical education topics, and deliver strategic direction regarding innovative care models.

The 2024 and 2025 Disease Group Chairs are:

Gastrointestinal: Alfredo Torres, MD, New York Cancer & Blood Specialists

Genitourinary:  Vasily Assikis, MD, Piedmont Cancer Institute

Breast: Yelda Nouri, MD, New York Cancer & Blood Specialists

Lung: Trevor Feinstein, MD, Piedmont Cancer Institute

Hematologic Malignancies: Will Donnellan, MD, Tennessee Oncology

OneOncology also thanks all five outgoing chairs and deeply appreciates their commitment to all physicians on the platform and for advancing sub-specialization in community oncology.

The outgoing chairs are: Henry Xiong, MD; Jahan Aghalar, MD; Greg Vidal, MD; Melissa Johnson, MD; and Jonathan Abbas, MD.

“Thank you to our outgoing Disease Group chairs for creating a strong culture of collaboration, and education, as well as for contributing their sub-specialization expertise to the creation of 25 pathways,” said Davey Daniel, MD, OneOncology’s Chief Medical Officer. “I look forward to working with our incoming chairs to continue to bring sub-specialization expertise to our platform.”